The Five Love Languages ~ For Younger Kids

Awhile back, I wrote a blog about the 5 love languages
Image placeholder title

I downloaded the test online and gave it to the hubby and my girls (who were teens or preteens at the time). Well, what if your kids are too young to understand the online test and or do it for themselves? Here are a few tips for finding out the love languages of younger children.

As a reminder, the 5 Love Languages are

  1. Words of Affirmation
  2. Quality Time
  3. Gifts
  4. Acts of Service
  5. Physical Touch

Observe your child’s behavior and see the ways they interact with others -Do they always want to show you what they have made? Are they always hanging around just to be in your presence? Do they make gifts and then give them? Are they always trying to help a sibling?  Do they always want to play contact games?

Each of these behaviors points to a corresponding love language. Another tip is to listen to your child – Do you like my shoes? I don’t want you to go to work. What did you bring home for me?  Will you help me clean my room? Can we play tickling?

It may leave you feeling like a detective (didn’t we all want to be detectives after CSI came out???). The examples above are positive ways that can point you toward the love language of your child, but their are clues in their complaints as well.  You never have time for me. You never give me any presents. We don’t play games together. You didn’t help me with my spelling. I didn’t get a hug today.

We all love our children to pieces, yet if we fail to speak their primary love language, it can leave children feeling like their needs aren’t met and they won’t know how to articulate it. Pay attention to your child over the next week and watch how they act, listen to what they say and see if you can determine their primary love language.