Skip to main content

Chakra Exercise: Heart Chakra (Part 4 of 7)

Hello Beautiful,The heart chakra is one of my personal faves to work on. Last week we worked on the solar plexus chakra
Image placeholder title

The heart chakra is placed right in the center of you chest and is green in color.  Green for growth because love makes everything grow.  Cheesy I know, but isn’t it awesome?

The heart chakra encompasses your heart (obviously), your chest, lungs, blood circulation and your arms and hands.  Think: “Hugging someone I love encircles them in my heart chakra.”  The heart chakra is the right to love and be loved.

“You yourself, as much as anybody in the entire universe, deserve your love and affection.”  Buddha

The right to love and be loved isn’t about the mushy, ooey-gooey stuff you see in romantic comedies.  This love is the kind of love that fills you from the inside out, compassion, acceptance, forgiveness, and even the ability to laugh at yourself when you’ve made a mistake.

You’re exercise is Childs Pose to Camel

1.Sit on your knees and fold forward into child’s pose.  Take a couple of deep breaths here.  Child’s pose helps open up the back of the heart.

Scroll to Continue

Recommended for You

2.When you’re ready, inhale and sit up reaching the heart up toward the ceiling.  Take an exhale here to ground down into the earth.  Think ‘root to rise’ here.  Read the Root Chakra post to learn more.

3.At your next inhale tuck your tailbone toward your knees, lift your heart and naturally bend back into camel pose.  You can plant your hands on the earth first if you’re not sure of your capabilities.  You can even place blocks there to shorten the distance.  If that feels good then lift your hips.  If you still want a deeper stretch then place you hands on your heels and lift the hips all the way up.  The head and neck, in any variation of camel, can look down toward the belly button, out at the wall, up at the ceiling or even at the wall behind you, whatever feels best for you.

4.Hold here for a couple of breaths, or go through a child’s pose to camels pose flow.  Inhale into camel and exhale to child’s pose. 26 times is the magic number for chakras because there are 26 vertebrae in the spine where the chakras run through.

Your mantra for the heart chakra is “I Am Love!”  Your soul purpose in this life is to share your heart and soul with others.  The soul is already perfect love.  You are not defined by your body and it’s limitations. You are defined by your heart and soul, which is perfect love.

As always in yoga please listen to your body.  Never force or push a pose further than you body is able.  Yoga is a journey of self discovery of the mind, body and soul.  Injuring your physical body for the sake of a pose is counterproductive.  Listen to what your body needs and honor that.

Please leave comments below of how the exercises went for you or if you have any questions!



Image placeholder title

Chakra Exercise: Crown Chakra (Part 7 of 7)

Chakra Exercise: Crown Chakra (Part 7 of 7)

Image placeholder title

Chakra Exercise: Throat Chakra (Part 5 of 7)

Chakra Exercise: Throat Chakra (Part 5 of 7)

Image placeholder title

Chakra Exercise: Brow Chakra (Part 6 of 7)

Hello Beautiful, The Brow Chakra, also known as the Third Eye, is such a fun one to work on!

Image placeholder title

Chakra Exercise: Solar Plexus Chakra (Part 3 of 7)

Hello Beautiful, Welcome to part 3 of 7 in the Chakra Exercise Series.

Image placeholder title

Chakra Exercise : Sacral Chakra (2 of 7)

Welcome to Part 2 of the Chakra Exercise Series!